History of Nkol-Afamba

According to legend, the populations of NKOL-AFAMBA came from Egypt and crossed the Sanaga on the back of a snake, part of this people remained in the Lékié area called Bekassa. Another settled in NKOL-AFAMBA while the others continued towards the sea in search of salt. Among these there are three large families or clans: the Mvog-Manga, the Tsinga, the Evondo. However, we find some minority clans namely: the Mvog-man-Ze, the Otolo, the Yemessoum; the Fangs. We also note the presence of other non-native peoples who have settled recently and who carry out agricultural and commercial activities.

Initially, NKOL-AFAMBA was a village that belonged to the council of MFOU (capital of the department of Méfou-et-Afamba). Following decree n ° 95/82 of April 24, 1995, NKOL-AFAMBA was established as a rural council.

With Decree No. 2008/376 of November 12, 2008, on the Administrative Organization of the Republic of Cameroon, the designation of Urban or Rural Municipality and Province no longer exists. The Rural Municipality of NKOL-AFAMBA then became the Municipality of NKOL-AFAMBA.

The Municipality of NKOL-AFAMBA is a society organized on the traditional, administrative, socio-professional and relational level. It is made up of a group of forty-four (44) villages. The group leader or second degree chief has under his responsibility a set of villages at the head of which there are third degree chiefs, having around them a set of notables representing the large families of the community.

Creation date :

  • 1995

Brief history

  • 2010 : Creation of the Nkolafamba District
  • 1996 : Election of the first municipal executive
  • 1995 : Creation of the Municipality of Nkolafamba
  • 1992 : Creation of the District of Nkolafamba in Mfou Sub-division